Sunday, March 22, 2015

Foreign Trade Zone progress

The Town of Limon was notified the hold placed on the Limon Foreign Trade Zone application on December 24, 2014 by the Foreign Trade Zone Board (FTZ Board), U.S Department of Commerce, has been lifted, allowing the federal review process to resume.

The hold was placed on the application when the FTZ Board received a letter from the Port of Denver, Customs and Border Protection (CBP), dated December 17, 2014 stating CBP did not believe that the Service Area defined in the application met the regulatory adjacency requirement of being within 60 miles or 90 minutes of the Port of Denver.

In cooperation with the CBP, the Service Area mapping and description was revised. These revisions did result in a few areas that were previously included being not included in the revised mapping. The new Service Area no longer includes the Towns of Akron and Simla as well as some rural portions of the counties of Morgan, Lincoln, Elbert and Washington. These areas would still be eligible for subzone status when the application is finally approved.

The Service Area now includes all of the counties of Adams and Arapahoe and portions of Elbert, Lincoln and Morgan.

On March 10, 2015, CBP informed the Town of Limon that the Port Director LaShanda Jones had agreed the revised maps met the regulatory adjacency requirement and that Limon should submit revised materials to the FTZ Board.

Limon submitted the revised Service Area mapping and description to the FTZ Board and received notification that the hold had been removed on March 11, 2015. This action allows the formal federal review to continue towards approval.

If you have questions about the application, please contact Dave Stone or Joe Kiely at the Town of Limon by calling Limon Town Hall at 719‐775‐2346.

No comments:

Post a Comment