Thursday, April 30, 2015

Remember When? Week 19

April 29, 1965, 50 years ago.
Over 150 guests were present Sunday afternoon at IOOF Hall to observe the 50th Anniversary of the founding of the local branch of Limon Odd Fellow Lodge.
Miss LaWanda Morrow, senior of Limon High school, is representing Eastern Colorado in the Colorado Posture Pageant at the Brown Palace Hotel.
Kevin, Carson and Maurita Kravig, from Karval 4-H Club, have been chosen to represent Lincoln County at the annual 4-H conference in Fort Collins.
Mr. and Mrs.Francis B. Mease of Limon announce the engagement of their daughter, Sharon Kay, to Louis Widhalm, son of Mr. and Mrs Don Widhalm of Limon.

May 1, 1975, 50 years ago.
Charlene Smythe, violinist, and Gloria Liggett, Mezza soprano, will be the featured soloists for a benefit concert to be held at the First United Methodist Church to raise money for the purchase of new choir robes.
Jean Ann Schifferns, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Everett Schifferns of Arriba was selected on the campus of the University of Northern Colorado in Greeley who have been tapped for membership in the 1974-75 “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.”
Marine Pvt. William R Boetger, son of Mr. and Mrs. Gordon Boetger, completed Infantry Training School at the Marine Corps Base, Camp Pendleton, Calif. He received specialized instruction in infantry weapons and tactics.

May 2, 1985 30 years ago.
A few students represented the classes in Limon Elementary School during Arbor Day. Each shoveled dirt to help plant two cottonwood trees directly east of the school building. Each class offered songs, poems, or stories about Arbor Day and the importance of trees.
A half-dozen bullets fired through the doors of the Limon Fire Station last week failed to damage any of the vehicles inside, and there were no injuries, according to Limon Police Chief Jim Trahern.
Jeff Gore and Donna Johnson were selected king and queen of the prom, held Saturday night at Limon High School.
Serving as next year’s Student Council President will be Greg Zabukover. Troy Jaklich was elected vice president, Jill Hollowell won the secretary’s seat, and Danita Mock was selected to serve as treasurer.

April 27, 1994 20 years ago.
Vern Nall, a fixture of the Limon Post Office, will be retiring as of April 28.
William Garlow has been accepted to go to Washington D.C. in July for the National Youth Leadership Council.
Randy Randolph and Kris Smith were the “Bowlers of the Year” crowned at Lincoln Lanes following the annual tournament.

April 28, 2005, 10 years ago.
Children from Head Start came over to Carla’s Cluster Care for Grandma and Grandpa Day.
Don and Della Knutson, the Gary Withingtons and Joe Martin were among the many enjoying the Hugo Volunteer Firemen’s dinner at he VFW Hall in Hugo. Northwest Technical held there induction into the National Technical Honors Society. During the induction; Joe Rush of Arriba was named to the NTHS.
Ceri Parker was named the 2005 Northeastern Junior College Outstanding Student. Parker is an agriculture education major and will graduate with presidential honors and PTK designation,

No comments:

Post a Comment